Legislature Update


This is a big THANK YOU to all of you who contacted the below listed Assembly Ways and Means Committee members and asked them to oppose AB 190 – NV PERS – Hybrid Bill by Anti-Public Employee Assemblyman Randy Kirner and co-sponsored by Assemblymen Wheeler, Hickey, Jones, Dickman, Ellison, Hansen and Oscarson.

On Wednesday, April 15, Assemblyman Kirner again provided non-credible, inflated and erroneous non-factual information to the Committee and all of us in attendance in his hope of somehow convincing the Committee that he was right in claiming that NV PERS was on its way to bankruptcy.  He brought in some “experts”  who attempted to reinforce Assemblyman Kirner’s  testimony.  This testimony was rebutted  by NV PERS executive officer Tina Leiss.

All in all Tina Leiss and the independent actuary experts from the Segal firm  contradicted  Kirner and his “experts” and provided the “other side” of why PERS was best in class and extremely well run.  More important was the fiscal note of over $745 million dollars which by itself will cause the bill to die.

Our public coalition group stayed on point and presented testimony all in opposition to AB 190.   No action was taken by the committee at that point.  The hearing lasted four and one half hours.

Assemblyman Anderson, chairman of the Assembly Ways and Means Committee was to be commended for providing equal time to both the proponents and opponents in presenting both sides to this unneeded legislation.

We learned yesterday (April 17, 2015) that there was a possibility of deals being made between the Senate republicans and Senate democrats on the Governor’s tax plan (SB 252).   Here is the link from the LVRJ:


I received an e-mail from Senator Ford stating that our labor coalition need not “fret” about the deals.

We learned this week that there was a possibility that all collective  bargaining bills AB249, AB 280, AB 182, SB 158, SB 168 would most likely be referred to the Ways and Means Committee with a fiscal note.   Ironically, AB 249 was the first to be referred and included a fiscal note of $300K to add the position of Deputy Commissioner to the Employee Management Relations Board (EMRB).

The last two days of this week were spent observing the Senate and Assembly floor sessions where the non-exempt bills have until April 21 to be voted out of their respective house or face the dreaded “indefinite postponed”  (Killed) label.

Yesterday SB 241, Senator Roberson’s collective bargaining bill was amended to oust judicial employees from collective bargaining. This was supposedly re-amended and removed but that is yet to be seen.  Seems that the judicial branch of government believes that it has complete control over its employees, even though it doesn’t employ employees, the state, county and city’s employ employees.  What makes them exempt?

OK….that is it for week 11.  There are 45 days left in this legislation session.

From RPEN:

If you have not shared your opinion on the legislative website, we encourage you to do so.  “Share your Opinion” by clicking on the link below from. Select the bill number you wish  (you don’t have to know the bill name) and you  can indicate if you are “for” or  “against” a bill and you can also add comments as well as mention that you are a voter and who your Assembly and Senate representatives are.


If you are unable to attend in person you can watch the meeting online by clicking on the link below on the day of the meeting and click on “View” next to the meeting. You can also contact members of the Assembly Ways and Means Committee by email or phone to express your opposition to Assembly Bill 190, AB 182, AB 249 and  AB 280.


Assembly Ways and Means Committee members:

Paul Anderson – Chair

Email: Paul.Anderson@asm.state.nv.us


John Hambrick, Speaker – Vice Chair

Email: John.Hambrick@asm.state.nv.us


Derek Armstrong

Email: Derek.Armstrong@asm.state.nv.us


Jill Dickman

Email: Jill.Dickman@asm.state.nv.us


Chris Edwards

Email: Chris.Edwards@asm.state.nv.us


Pat Hickey

Email: Pat.Hickey@asm.state.nv.us


Randy Kirner

Email: Randy.Kirner@asm.state.nv.us


James Oscarson

Email: James.Oscarson@asm.state.nv.us


Robin L. Titus

Email: Robin.Titus@asm.state.nv.us


Teresa Benitez-Thompson

Email: Teresa.BenitezThompson@asm.state.nv.us


Irene Bustamante Adams

Email: Irene.BustamanteAdams@asm.state.nv.us


Maggie Carlton

Email: Maggie.Carlton@asm.state.nv.us


Marilyn K. Kirkpatrick

Email: Marilyn.Kirkpatrick@asm.state.nv.us


Michael C. Sprinkle

Email: Mike.Sprinkle@asm.state.nv.us


Heidi Swank

Email: Heidi.Swank@asm.state.nv.us